University of Connecticut University of UC Title Fallback Connecticut

Lab Members

Lab Director
Nairán Ramírez-Esparza, Ph.D.
CV
NairanRamirez_uconnBackground With Mayan CalendarI was born in Mexico and I lived in Puebla, Mexico until my mid-twenties. I moved to the United States to do my Ph.D. in Social Psychology at the University of Texas, Austin. Then I did postdoctoral work at the Institute for Learning and Brain Sciences in the University of Washington in Seattle. I joined the social psychology faculty of the University of Connecticut in 2012. Moving around between two countries and spending time living in different areas of the United States have inspired many of my research questions. For example, while living in Austin Texas and interacting with fluent bilinguals I did a study looking at how bilinguals change their personality when they change languages. Now I am the director of the LAB-C-Lab where we continue answering questions about the influence of culture and language on different areas
Gloriana Rodríguez-Araúz
IMG_8557My name is Map Of Costa Rica With FruitsGloriana and I come originally from San José, Costa Rica.  I earned my B.A. in psychology in 2007 in University of Costa Rica and my M.A. in 2010 from Central Connecticut State University.  At present I am a fourth-year PhD student working with Dr. Ramírez-Esparza. Broadly speaking, my interests revolve around cross cultural variations in food attitudes and the effects of culture on social interactions. My current project explores how the way we think about food is related to well-being and how that relationship varies across Latin American and Euro-American cultures. In the picture I am at Conchal beach, one of the most beautiful of Costa Rica.
Elif Gozde Ikizer
IMG_3265I am aIstanbul fourth year graduate student working with Nairan Ramirez-Esparza. I graduated with a B.S. in Chemistry from Bogazici University in 2010 and a M.A. in Psychology from Koc University in 2013, both in Istanbul, Turkey. I am interested in the interaction of culture with stigmatized social identities, different abilities and experiences of bilinguals, and social psychological interventions. In my free time, I enjoy doing yoga and learning new languages.
 Undergraduate Research Assistants
Yiping Liu
IMG_8327
Photo of pinned Nanjing on a map of Asia.I am an undergraduate student majoring in Psychology. I came to the US In August 2014 from Nanjing, China—where I was born and raised up. I am most interested in the psychology of different forms of communication, and how cultural differences affect individual’s perception and behavior in social interactions. In addition, many other fields of psychology, such as micro expression and the psychology of music, also strongly appeal to me. I plan to attend graduate school to further my interest in social cognitive psychology.
 Tamsen Bertz 
 11181336_10153423995156660_6848806500862895383_nMassachusetts state road map with Interstates, U.S. Highways and state roads. All elements on separate layers for easy editing.Hi! My name is Tamsen and I am from a small town in central Massachusetts called Northborough. I am about 35 minutes outside of Boston, and I love going into the city for all the fun things it has to offer. I am very interested in clinical psychology and hope to have my own private practice one day specializing in child and family therapy. I love traveling and exploring new places and cultures. I cook all the time and am always up for trying new foods and techniques. I try and spend as much of my free time as I can outside, whether it is at the beach, hiking a mountain or skiing. I never miss a Patriots game, and I always know how Boston sports teams are doing. I absolutely love being a student at Uconn, and look forward to what my future holds!
Livingston Cortez
img_0553-1Beautiful photo of a map of Republic of Ecuador and the capital Quito .

Hey there! My name is Livingston and I am an undergraduate student double majoring in Psychology and Spanish. I was born in Guayaquil, Ecuador and came to the United States when I was 4 months old. I enjoy the outdoors and animals, as well as learning about different cultures. I am interested in child and developmental psychology, and intend to be a child psychologist working in my private practice. My research interests focus on how culture plays a role in the interactions and behaviors of people. I plan to go to graduate school to expand my knowledge and interests. I am very delighted to have the opportunity to be conducting research at the University of Connecticut.

Visiting Scholar
Shu Jiang
shu-jiang

Zhejiang province blank detailed outline map set

I was born in Huzhou, China and graduated from Xi’an Physical Education University with a degree in Sport Psychology (minor in Literature). I went to Springfield College, USA where I did my Master’s in Counseling Psychology. I spent two years working closely with collegiate student athletes on performance enhancement, academic and personal issues, organizing and facilitating workshops for sports teams covering mental skills. Meanwhile, my growing fascination with language and cognition also inspired me to expand my academic scope. My research interests are behavioral change, psycholinguistics, and self-talk. I love classical music, painting, and writing. Looking forward to learn more and contribute to the field at UConn.

 Alumni
 Selin Ozlem Goktas
IMG_7608
Carlos Rosario
12417801_10208280856647921_3147044398243321143_n (1)
Maria Fernandez Gomez
 FullSizeRender